Press Release

Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT






  • “LIGHT” at LASER World of Photonics 2015

    Luminescent man-sized eye-catcher at the Fraunhofer booth: the LIGHT exhibit, manufactured with 3D printing.

    By using the heading "Light", the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT presented itself at the LASER World of Photonics in two distinct ways: it addressed both a focus upon lightweight construction as well as one on new systems for generating laser light. Furthermore, the institute showed a large number of new ideas for industrial laser technology at this photonics exhibition, the world's largest with more than 30,000 visitors this year.

  • Lasers for Fast Internet in Space – Space Technology from Aachen

    On June 23, the second Sentinel mission was launched from the space mission launch center in Kourou. A critical component of Aachen is on board. Researchers at the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT and Tesat-Spacecom have jointly developed the know-how for space-qualified laser components. For the Sentinel mission the diode laser pump module of the Laser Communication Terminal LCT was planned and constructed in Aachen in cooperation with the manufacturer of the LCT, Tesat-Spacecom, and the Ferdinand Braun Institute.

  • Outstanding Laser Research: ILT Scientist Dr. Stefan Hengesbach Receives the 2015 WLT Award

    On June 22, 2015 the Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Lasertechnik e.V. (WLT) [Scientific Society for Laser Technology] conferred Dr.-Ing. Stefan Hengesbach with the 2015 WLT Award. The award ceremony took place during the WLT Award Ceremony & Plenary Session at the “Lasers in Manufacturing conference - LIM 2015”, held as part of the LASER World of Photonics in Munich.

  • Increasing the Productivity of Ultrafast Laser Systems

    Thin-disc amplifier with 1.5 kW.

    To advance the development of ultrafast laser systems for the industry, research institutes are now concentrating on increasing system productivity. To achieve this goal, Fraunhofer ILT is working in several different ways: on the one hand it is building stronger systems with record performances in the kW range. On the other hand, its researchers are working on tailor-made solutions for different applications. At LASER 2015, Fraunhofer ILT will be presenting, among others, a module for pulse shortening and a test system for an adjustable infrared laser with high power, each of which show new ways to increase efficiency in materials processing.

  • Fraunhofer ILT named partner of the “Innovative Manufacturing CRC” in Melbourne

    In Melbourne, Australia, a new cooperative research center for innovative manufacturing technology is being established. On May 26, 2015, Australia’s Minister for Industry and Science, the Hon Ian Macfarlane MP, gave the green light for the Innovative Manufacturing Cooperative Research Centre (IMCRC). Industrial partners, universities and the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT in Aachen, Germany, will be joining forces for this initiative.

  • Adaptive Production Technology for more efficient Jet Engines

    Air traffic is set to grow just as drastically in the future as it is now, so jet engines need to become more efficient. But the engineers designing these engines must give priority to the question of how to make manufacture and repair of these components cost-effective. From June 15 to 21, 2015, Aachen-based Fraunhofer researchers will be at the International Paris Air Show (Hall 1, Booth G316) to present a multistage blisk that was manufactured by utilizing a new adaptive process chain. This gives component designers more flexibility while improving manufacturing and MRO processes.

  • Lasers are the key to mastering challenges in lightweight construction

    Lightweight control arm with a hollow structure inside, made by SLM.

    Many joining and cutting processes are possible only with lasers. New technologies make it possible to manufacture metal components with hollow structures that are significantly lighter and yet just as stable as solid components. In addition, lasers can be used to combine various lightweight construction materials and steels with each other. The Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT in Aachen is presenting a range of such solutions at the LASER World of Photonics trade fair from June 22 to 25, 2015 in Munich, Germany, (Hall A3, Stand 121).

  • Searching for the perfect laser beam

    Today’s lasers for cutting applications are the best-selling industrial laser beam sources worldwide. Current analyses estimate that these lasers have roughly 50 percent of the market, with the most dominant application being the precise, flexible and highly productive 2D cutting used to produce nearly any contour in sheet metal blanks. At the same time, completely new cutting methods – for instance, perforations or the precise shaping of glass displays for mobile devices – are on the verge of entering industrial production. Current research is focused on increasing expertise in forming fiber-guided laser beams for sheet metal cutting and transferring that knowledge to damage-free glass cutting in the display industry as well as water-jet-guided precision cutting of small parts. As part of the EU’s HALO project (“High power Adaptable Laser beams for materials processing”), scientists at the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT are working on distributing the laser beam’s intensity in a way that meets the highest quality requirements while conserving resources. The project results will be presented at the LASER World of Photonics 2015 in Munich.

  • UKP-Workshop: Ultrafast Laser Technology 2015 - Productivity is the key

    USP ablation on a roll-to-roll machine with beam splitting for the parallel processing of organic solar cells.

    New ways to increase productivity were top of the agenda at this year’s UKP-Workshop: Ultrafast Laser Technology, with many aspects of the subject presented and debated in depth – from beam sources and process engineering to applications. The conclusion: ultrafast laser pulses have arrived in material processing, new applications are becoming possible thanks to constant developments not least in process engineering, and the market for ultrafast laser systems is enjoying exceptional growth.

  • Electrical Storage: Safe Contacts between Battery Cells by Laser Beam Welding

    Oscillation laser welding creates safe electrical contacts between battery cells.

    The Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT has developed a new laser welding technology for temperature-sensitive cylindrical battery cells that is now ready for series production. Since 2009 the experts from in Aachen, Germany have been working on battery joining – the process of connecting individual cells into packs. They are currently working with other Fraunhofer Institutes to put together a complete battery pack.


Social Bookmarks